Barking Boxshot

Length / Films : 118 minutes
Length / Special features: 31 minutes
Sound: Stereo (restored)
Original aspect ratio: 1.33:1 full frame
Language: English
Region 0
RRP: £12.99
Release Date: 23 January 2017
Second Run DVD 114buy

Our third volume of films by the renowned British documentary filmmaker Marc Isaacs brings together two films chronicling very different perspectives on the nature of love, respect and devotion.

Set in an isolated coastal village, Someday My Prince Will Come (2005) is narrated in rhyming couplets by 11-yearold Laura-Anne as she embarks on a quest to find her ‘prince’. Rare in its acceptance of kids on their own terms and both heartrending and hilarious in its sincerity.
Philip and His Seven Wives (2006) a film made for the BBC’s prestigious Storyville strand, tells the intriguing story of a former messianic rabbi who believes that he communicates directly with God. Isaacs’ captivating and intimate documentary is a portrait of this unconventional family whose lives revolve around faith and obedience to the head of the household.
With insight, compassion and humour, these films take you inside the extraordinary worlds of the everyday.

Second Run are delighted to present these two important documentary works on home video for the first time - and which include all new and exclusive follow-up pieces on both films, plus a brand new filmed interview with filmmaker Marc Isaacs.

.more about the film

Blonde Stills

Special Features

• Special edition of two films, presented from new digital transfers of their original materials and approved by the director.

• Newly filmed, exclusive follow-up pieces on both films.

• A new and exclusive filmed interview with director Marc Isaacs.

• 16-page booklet featuring a new essay by critic and Sight & Sound web editor Nick Bradshaw.

• Available for the first time on home video.

Related Titles

Filmed and directed by Marc Isaacs

Someday My Prince Will Come
Written by Jonathan Ruffl e
Editor – David Charap
Music – Michel Duvoisin
Producer – Marc Isaacs
Executive producers – Madonna Benjamin, Richard McKerrow

Philip and His Seven Wives
Editor – Ollie Huddleston
Music – Michel Duvoisin
Producer – Rachel Wexler
Executive producer for BBC Storyville – Nick Fraser
Executive producer - David Charap

Related Titles

Two further volumes of Marc Isaacs’ acclaimed films
are also available on DVD from Second Run.

Vol. I contains three films:
Lift / Travellers / Calais: The Last Border

Vol. II contains two films:
All White in Barking / Men of the City








Philip and His Seven Wives
2006 Bronze Award, Krakow Jewish Film Festival


“Isaacs has an astounding gift for getting people to open up to him and he uses film the way a skilled artist uses paint. The result is beautiful, heartbreaking and profoundly humane”
The Times Online

“[Isaacs] has quietly built a body of work that puts him amongst the most empathetic documentary observers we have of lives often overlooked” Time Out

"Filmmaker Marc Isaacs is one of Britain’s most experimental and revered documentary makers... making films that shine an intimate and revealing light on modern Britain. From All White
in Barking to Outside the Court, he will let subjects come to him – creating an often claustrophobic and intimate atmosphere where real people’s voices and stories are in sharper focus than often is the case" BBC online




Home Browse The Collection Coming Soon About Second Run Shop Contact Us/Mailing List